Nigeria · Statistic
PO Boxes & PMB per State
Communication · Source: NIPOST via NBS · annual
International comparability — CSA: Economic · ITU ICT indicatorsPost Office (P.O.) boxes and Private Mail Bags (PMB) reported per state, with national totals, 2019-2025, covering eight NIPOST facility metrics: boxes installed, private boxes, business boxes, boxes rented and unrented, and PMBs available, rented and unrented. Figures are counts. Source: National Bureau of Statistics.
Observations
2,240
2019 – 2025
Coverage
36 states + FCT
state+national
Choropleth map with a selector
Why this chart?
A choropleth encodes one variable over geography; this series also splits by state, so the map carries a selector for it rather than collapsing the second dimension. It is a state-plus-national series, so the national total (the sum of the states) rides above the map as a KPI and trend, while the states carry the spatial breakdown.
Chosen: Choropleth map with a selector · auto-selected from the data profile · aggregate/total member detected by name — this series carries no is_aggregate tag.
Both downloads carry every observation — state, period, value, unit and source — and reconstruct the whole series.
Full historical data
Every published value — 7 periods across 36 states + FCT. The most recent periods are shown by default; expand the table for the full history, or use the downloads above for everything.
Coverage: 96%of cells carry a published value (2,156 of 2,240).Showing the latest 5 of 7 periods. The downloads above carry every observation.
| Period | Abia | Adamawa | Akwa Ibom | Anambra | Bauchi | Bayelsa | Benue | Borno | Cross River | Delta | Ebonyi | Edo | Ekiti | Enugu | Federal Capital Territory | Gombe | Imo | Jigawa | Kaduna | Kano | Katsina | Kebbi | Kogi | Kwara | Lagos | Nasarawa | Niger | Ogun | Ondo | Osun | Oyo | Plateau | Rivers | Sokoto | Taraba | Yobe | Zamfara | Nigeriatotal |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 16,833 | 3,887 | 10,015 | 39,706 | 4,476 | 2,159 | 4,835 | 662 | 4,661 | 9,600 | 3,585 | 11,859 | 4,293 | 10,167 | 19,041 | 970 | 17,331 | 262 | 11,676 | 10,904 | 1,896 | 1,289 | 5,241 | 5,727 | 93,715 | 1,542 | 4,562 | 12,589 | 8,881 | 10,484 | 29,059 | 6,318 | 15,312 | 1,308 | 1,101 | 148 | 831 | 386,925 |
| 2022 | 16,833 | 3,845 | 8,661 | 38,103 | 4,476 | 1,790 | 4,135 | 485 | 5,005 | 13,175 | 2,094 | 9,435 | 4,320 | 1,935 | 19,041 | 821 | 10,000 | 97 | 11,188 | 12,397 | 1,691 | 1,296 | 2,278 | 5,669 | Not reported | 1,597 | 4,748 | 12,502 | 8,897 | 11,048 | 28,556 | 6,630 | 15,312 | 6,880 | 2,103 | 373 | 3,411 | 375,007 |
| 2023 | 3,330 | 1,648 | 1,823 | 148 | 1,900 | 879 | 1,577 | 3,141 | 865 | 2,639 | 360 | 2,060 | 1,256 | 2,297 | 3,415 | 419 | 7,102 | 86 | 4,541 | 1,209 | 617 | 617 | 5,006 | 1,672 | Not reported | 662 | 1,856 | 2,531 | 144 | 3,465 | 3,207 | 3,010 | 4,620 | 1,485 | 2,160 | 978 | 694 | 100,190 |
| 2024 | 3,330 | 1,648 | 1,823 | 148 | 1,073 | 879 | 1,577 | 3,141 | 865 | 2,639 | 360 | 2,060 | 1,256 | 2,297 | 3,415 | 419 | 7,102 | 86 | 4,541 | 1,209 | 617 | 617 | 5,006 | 1,672 | Not reported | 662 | 1,856 | 2,531 | 144 | 3,465 | 3,207 | 3,010 | 4,620 | 1,485 | 2,160 | 978 | 694 | 99,209 |
| 2025 | 3,330 | 1,585 | 1,825 | 75 | 1,073 | 879 | 1,577 | 3,141 | 865 | 2,639 | 360 | 2,060 | 1,256 | 2,297 | 3,532 | 392 | 17,770 | 86 | 4,541 | 1,165 | 617 | 617 | 5,006 | 1,672 | Not reported | 662 | 1,856 | 2,531 | 1,875 | 3,465 | 3,207 | 6,630 | 5,625 | 1,485 | 2,160 | 978 | 694 | 116,145 |
Why some cells have no value
- Not reported
- The reporting unit did not file.
Methodology and provenance
Where this data comes from and when Prism last updated it. Any narrative below is the data provider’s own wording, reproduced with its source reference — Prism adds no interpretation.
Source document
Last updated 3 August 2026
- Table 002
Nipost Boxes · page 8 · Nigeria Postal Service (NIPOST) Hqrts Abuja
Highlights
In the source publication’s own words.
The number of boxes installed decreased slightly from 788,124 in 2024 to 786,323 in 2025, representing a 0.23% decline.
The total number of Private Mail Bags (PMBs) available stood at 21,962 in 2025, reflecting a 0.46% decrease from 22,064 in 2024.
At the state level, Lagos state recorded the highest number of installed boxes in 2025, with 143,416 boxes, while Jigawa state recorded the lowest, with 1,800 boxes installed.
Source and citation
This series is catalogued from public source tables. Prism names the table originator and the publication publisher — shown as one line when they are the same organisation. How this data is extracted and checked is set out in the methodology, and the full list of what Prism draws on is on the sources page.
- Originator
- Nigerian Postal Service (NIPOST)
- Publisher
- National Bureau of Statistics (NBS)
- Publication
- Postal Services Data
- Printed source caption
- Nigeria Postal Service (NIPOST) Hqrts Abuja
- Publication reference
- NGA-NBS-POSTAL
- Catalog record
- Catalog 183
"PO Boxes & PMB per State", NIPOST via NBS, Postal Services Data, ref. NGA-NBS-POSTAL. Catalogued by Prism, https://prism-portal-sooty.vercel.app/statistics/nbs-comm-po-boxes-and-pmb-nga. Primary source: https://microdata.nigerianstat.gov.ng/index.php/catalog/183/download/1419/Postal_Data_2023-2025.zip.
Share / embed chart
Preview
Paste this where you want the chart (it scales to fit):
Related series
- Active Internet Subscriptions per StateCatalogueCatalogue record — historical data
- Active internet subscriptions per state by providerCatalogueCatalogue record — historical data
- Active Voice Subscriptions per StateCatalogueCatalogue record — historical data
- GSM/mobile subscriptions by operatorCatalogueCatalogue record — historical data
- Internet subscriptions by operatorCatalogueCatalogue record — historical data
- Movie Theatres per StateCatalogueCatalogue record — historical data
- NIPOST Revenue: 4010 Sales of Post CardsCatalogueCatalogue record — historical data
- NIPOST Revenue: 4105 Courier Companies Licence FeeCatalogueCatalogue record — historical data
Source: NIPOST via NBS. Source publication: Postal Services Data. Publisher: National Bureau of Statistics (NBS). Catalogued by Prism; 2025.